Total Pageviews

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Turkish Parliament

In Ankara, the opening session of the national parliament - with oathtaking of the lawmakers - will probably happen on tuesday 28.6.2011 without 9 elected lawmakers:

from the CHP: Mustafa Balbay and Mehmet Haberal
from MHP: Engin Alan
from the independents: Gülşer Yıldırım, İbrahim Ayhan, Selma Irmak, Kemal Aktaş, Faysal Sarıyıldız, Hatip Dicle

Eight of them are in prison (mostly without any perspective to an approaching process), Dicle has been stripped of his deputyship due to a recently upheld terror conviction.

From the ruling party nobody is in prison.



  2. And in fact the opening session of the new elected parliament took place without the independent (mostly kurdish) lawmakers. Those of the CHP refused to give their oath, as long as their two new elected members Mustafa Balbay and Mehmet Haberal are sitting in prison, Balbay now for two years without any process in sight.

    Only Oktay Ekşi from the CHP took his oath, because he'd had to be the senior-president of the chamber. In his speech he put the attention on the country as a laik and republican one. RTE and President Gül came lat to his speech, so he repeated parts of it.

    The leader of CHP, Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu, put the attention on Erdoğan himself, who was in parliament though judged and put to prison himself. And about the presumption of innocene. Is it not valid anymore?